Loving like Jesus

Slow To Speak

I noticed this week that I am quick in my reactions to anger,  frustration,  happiness and all my other emotions. James 1:19 Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger;

I allow my emotions to dictate what comes out of my mouth. It isn’t always good things that come forth. Luke 6:45 …For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.

This week as a wife, mother and a Christian I will be working on yielding to the Lord’s word in this area of my life.

I am doing this by praying more, setting my mind on loving others, desiring to show Christ likeness,  and thinking if Jesus’ crucifixion was worth whatever sinful attitude that is produced in my actions and reactions through my mouth and attitude.  This isn’t going to be easy.  This requires me to die to myself moment by moment and to put others before me.

My sinful nature is to put me first. I do this often in my heart. The Holy Spirit is quick to convict me. The convictions at first are frustrating but then I realize I am fighting God and not doing his will. I then feel so hurt because I love the Lord with all my heart and I desire to please Him. My heart tells me when I am being disrespectful toward God and His word. I don’t want to purposefully sin and do that which I know I is wrong. Lead me Lord in your ways and not my own. I know I am but flesh and a descendant of Abraham, but I have been made holy through the blood of Jesus. Surely you can keep me from falling. I stumble but you catch me and help me keep my footing to walk down that straight and narrow path that you laid before me. You knew me before I was born and you know me now. You know where my heart is and that it is truly yours. I long to be in your presence and for the day I will be with in your presence. You alone are my one desire! May you be glorified in all that I do as I walk this earth as a wife, mother, friend and as your child.

Leave a Reply

