Uncategorized

Why Won’t God Change Me

I remember teaching my children about asking God to change them when they struggled with a sin. I also remember  them saying,”I asked but He won’t change me!” This is where the conversation got deep! 

I explained to my children God gives us the Holy Spirit to convict us of our sin and He helps cleanse us from our unrighteousness. I also told them that God already placed in their heart a desire to change and now they need to do their part and actively change their actions.

Many people believe that God will take away their sinful desires,  this may be true in some cases. However, we are clearly told in scriptures that we will battle with the flesh. Explaining this to my children brings joy to my heart because I see God working in them at such a young age.They understand the simple lessons. I don’t have to make this complicated. It is simple. 

We are all going to battle with our fleshly sinful desires. We chose every time we act or think in a sinful way to continue in sin or to choose what is right. If you have a relationship with Jesus and He is your Lord and Savior,  you have the Holy Spirit to help you conquer any sin you struggle with. I pray today that if you are reading this,  that the Lord will bless you with wisdom and discernment in areas of your life that need change and that he would fill you with His Spirit and embolden you to change. Teach your children that all things are possible with God. Yes change is hard and braking bad habits are hard,  but there is victory in Jesus!  To God be the glory! 

Leave a Reply

