Loving like Jesus

Juggling it All & Being a Mama

I am human. I struggle with wanting to do all the things I want to do including all the things I need to do. Like today, I wanted to get the laundry done, house clean, food prepped for tomorrow all so I could do whatever I want to do outside! The kids food would be ready, my house would be in order and I would be free! WRONG! I am never free. I am first and always a mother first! (Of course I’m  a wife first but we are talking about being a mommy right now!)

Anyways, back to what I was saying. I do not get to just go outside and garden, wood work, build things or mess with the animals until I first take care of my children. And even in the middle of doing my fun stuff, I might have to stop because the children need me. Am I complaining. NO! I would not have it any other way. Does it bother me sometimes? Yes! Why? Because I have a selfish nature that I am learning to die to every single day of my life! Do you know how hard that is? Do you understand what it means to die minute by minute and give up on your dreams, your wants and desires and put others before you? I never knew this until I met Jesus!

He changed everything. He showed me what true sacrifice was. He gave His life for mine! He died a horrible painful death so I could be free from hell. Don’t I owe Jesus my life for saving mine from an eternity in hell. “Yes”. I die to myself and do things that I know would honor God. Am I perfect at this, not at all. But I am learning every day to change and realize there are others who need to come before me. They are little people I gave birth to and love. They call me by the sweetest name on earth “Mama”. The lord tells us to

 

Proverbs 22:6New King James Version (NKJV)

6 Train up a child in the way he should go,
And when he is old he will not depart from it

 

KJ21

Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem the other better than himself.

 

1 Corinthians 13:-7

.4 Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; 5 does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; 6 does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; 7 bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

 

Psalm 127:3

Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.

 

All these verses are important to raising children and putting them before myself. I am not saying that we do not take care of ourselves and place our children on a pedestal. I am saying that my children will come before hobbies, friends, and knocking off. I love my children and even more so because God blessed me with them. Are you feeling blessed by your little ones. (Hahahaha! As I write this I think about Jeremiah and his naughty behavior at times. I still would not trade any of my hobbies for the fun and delight he brings to my heart when we are together!) I am molding him and it takes quality time. I hope you are encouraged to die to yourself and put motherhood in its right place on your priority list. God is worthy of our sacrifice!

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

