Cooking

Crock Pot Oatmeal

 

Over Night Oatmeal in the Crock Pot

 

On Saturdays I like to take this day and work on things that I do not get to work on during the week because I am busy with other priorities. Because of this, I like to have the breakfast made the night before and some left overs available for this day.

    I made this recipe after doing some research about cooking oatmeal. I noticed most people use a ratio 1:3 of oats to water. However, I find this too watery because I add milk to my oatmeal occasionally and my children have it milk all the time. So I made the ration 1:2. Here is the tutorial and the recipe.

 

Recipe

Ingredients

4 C Old Fashioned Oatmeal         8 C Water

1 t Molasses                                  2 Pinches of Salt

1 t Cinnamon                                1 t Maple Syrup (optional)

6 shakes of Stevia                         1 C Raisins (optional)

 

Directions- Add oats, water, molasses, cinnamon, salt, maple syrup and stevia. Mix and set the ingredients and cover with the lid. Set the crock pot to keep warm. By morning the oatmeal will be read. I have waited for 7-10 hours and it taste the same. Open the crock pot and stir it. Remove your portion and add the Raisins for your children.

         *Optional-    I take my portion of oatmeal and that is 1 C of cooked oatmeal for this recipe. I usually add milk (non dairy) or greek yogurt and sometimes if I have blueberries I add it to my oatmeal. It is amazing and taste great. I wanted to mention with the straight stevia it does not taste bitter because of all the spices that are added to the recipe! I hope you enjoy this recipe. If you give it a try please leave a comment and let us know what you thought about it.

 

Leave a Reply

